Ten nations have committed

Post date: Feb 27, 2015 3:08:59 PM

Ten nations have committed to the 2015 ISAF Team Racing World Championship with a further seven expected to register ahead of the 31 May entry deadline.

Teams from Argentina, Australia, Bermuda, Czech Republic, Great Britain, Ireland, Japan, New Zealand, South Africa and the USA will compete on Rutland Water, Great Britain from 20-24 July 2015.

Organized by Rutland Sailing Club in conjunction with the International Sailing Federation, the regatta will be the tenth edition of the ISAF Team Racing Worlds.

Ahead of the 2015 ISAF Team Racing Worlds, invited emerging nations who enter will be offered specialist training from 13-17 July. From then on it's down to business with five racing days scheduled ahead of the crowning of the 2015 World Champions on 24 July.

ISAF Competitions Manager Jon Napier said, "Ahead of the 31 May entry deadline we have had exceptional interest from Member National Authorities wanting to send teams to Rutland.

"The ISAF Team Racing Worlds has seen Olympic medallists and strong match racers pit their wits in the fast paced team racing environment in the past. Close, exciting racing has been seen throughout the event's history and that will certainly be the case at the 2015 edition."

Racing in Firefly type dinghies supplied by the Organizing Authority, the 2015 ISAF Team Racing Worlds will see up to 36 teams competing across Open and Youth Divisions.

About ISAF Team Racing Worlds

Great Britain were the first team to lift the ISAF Team Racing Worlds in West Kirby, Great Britain in 1995. Ireland came in second with Australia completing the podium.

From 2003 to 2009 USA dominated the event winning four in a row before the British team broke the trend at the most recent edition held in Schull, Ireland from 27 August - 4 September 2011.

In 2005 an Under 21 competition was introduced in Gandia, Spain and was won by Great Britain who also picked up gold in 2011 in the Under 19 category.